MithraCon 2024

This was my first MithraCon since 2015, so, an absence of 9 years. I know the con didn’t happen during covid, and while I can’t say for sure how many I’ve missed, for this blog’s on-going series, Mithras in America, I felt a visit to Dura-Europos was called for, and MithraCon was the perfect kick in the pants to get me up there.

Before I even decided to attend, I was told that the Sterling Memorial Library would be less of a focus for some attendees. This was good news for me as I have no reason to spend the day prowling the stacks. My local library moves heaven and earth to get me books, so this aspect of the con has never appealed to me. A day of intense conversation was promised, and delivered, so I was/am a very happy girl.

Every time I attend MithraCon there are 6 other attendees, and this year we were 7 again. But while several people were in the library, Jane, Cassius and myself were in the suite, trying (like so many before us) to put the several images of Mithras’ life into a narrative order. Cassius and I agreed to defer to Jane’s first position beginning PRIOR to the rock birth, in the divine realm. Loading Mithras into a meteor and launching Him to Earth was #1, with #1a being the rock birth.

Numbers 2,3,4 we declared fungible, but thereafter we referred to that part of the story as “steal catch and carry”. Various images were summoned from my database, which I had linked to the very large TV in the room, for ease of viewing. The conversation then snagged on which came first, the tauroctony or the hunting scenes. When we finally set that inconclusive topic aside, we moved onto discussing the grades and initiation. That almost immediately slipped into the discussion of the S. Capua Vetere images and whether the events they illustrate happened all at once, i.e. an initial initiation, or did they each happen with subsequent advancement of a grade. Andrew Fear’s book, Mithras, was referred to frequently, especially page 170, with the breakdown of “known rituals” with regards to initiation.

Somewhere in the middle of the above Cassius and I went in search of lunch. Over a bowl of mashed potatoes, he mapped out his desire to establish working, present day, mithraea. Like globally. A rebirth of a long dead cult. We discussed the merits of his plan, and I’ll be very interested to see how he progresses. Frankly, if anyone can do it, he can.

Back in the suite, around 6:30 I declared I was hungry, and went to my room to put my surprise dessert together. Me, my wife, and our best friends had made “circus beakers” to serve dessert in, hence me doing it out of sight. I think everyone was pleased and surprised.

Historically, after dinner is when presentations are made, so I loaded my images from last year’s Frankfurt trip and walked everyone through the exhibit. It was just as thrilling in retrospect as it was live. Cassius also presented his research on Mithras on the global stage, with a pair of very lovely statues to help illustrate his findings. We broke up for the night shortly thereafter.

Next morning, museum day, I was there when the doors opened at 11, and told that my tripod was not allowed in. What could I do? What I always do, I shot 151 shaky pictures. Totally worth the drive!!!

I was alone with the mithraeum for over an hour… just me and the guard. The other attendees wandered in around noon, and after a few minutes I took my leave.

So… FOR ME… a vast improvement over MithraCons of the past as I actually got to TALK about Him for almost a full day. Totally a 9 out of 10 on the Pattie-o-meter. Woot! Here’s to more of the same.

Leave a comment